Skip to main content

RefWorks @ Middlebury

How to use RefWorks citation management software

Notice

The Library is canceling its subscription to RefWorks effective June 30, 2017. After that date, students, faculty, staff and alumni will not be able to use RefWorks through the library’s subscription.  

We no longer support the creation of new RefWorks accounts. If you already have a RefWorks account, see the Migrate from RefWorks page for advice on how to save your RefWorks citations for use in other applications. If you would like assistance, or if you have any questions, please contact a librarian at http://go.middlebury.edu/askus.

RefWorks

How to save a citation to your account

This page explains how to save a citation to your RefWorks account. Based on where you find the citation, select from the instructions below.

From a library database

Did you find your source in a library database? (for example JSTOR, PsycINFO or Scopus) You can save it to RefWorks by following the instructions here.

  1. Log in to your RefWorks account. (If the database supports direct importing then this will ensure your references will be sent to (legacy) RefWorks instead of RefWorks 3.)
  2. Check the database to see if it has an option to export your citation to RefWorks.
  3. Every database vendor has different tools and naming conventions. This list links to instructions specific to each database: Importing from Online Data Vendors. Look for your database in the list and follow the instructions provided.
  4. If your database doesn't allow you to export to RefWorks, try looking for your citation in Summon and exporting it from there.  
  5. Still having problems?  Follow the instructions here: Adding References Manually.

From a web page

Did you find your source on the web? (for example, through Google) You can save it to RefWorks by following the instructions here.

If all else fails

If you're not able to use one of the quick export tools above, you can save sources to RefWorks manually.

Troubleshooting

Get it @ Midd Screen

The Get it @ Midd screen only lists one author of a journal article, even if there are multiple authors. Therefore when you export a citation to RefWorks from this screen, you only get one author for your bibliography, which is not correct. To avoid this problem, follow the instructions here

Get it @ Midd screen

 

Browser Pop-ups

Some databases sometimes have trouble connecting with RefWorks.  When you try to export to RefWorks, nothing seems to happen.  Here's what to do:

  1. Edit browser popup preferences to allow www.refworks.com
  2. Restart the browser
  3. Go through the export process again.  You might find that you also need to get a "security certificate" and "create an exception".