Online access to over 300 volumes published since 1960, over 196,000 pages and over 15 different academic subjects from ancient history, economic history, history of music, language and linguistics, theatre studies and performing arts, and religious studies.
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
Over 4,500 entries, including social, political, military, cultural, economic, scientific, and feminist topics. Entries cover not only monarchs, battles, and political events, but also topics such as alternative vote, the 2008 financial crisis, Olympics in Britain, and the Scottish Independence Referendum. Useful appendices include maps and genealogies. Coverage includes authors, composers and musicians, legal and technical terms, newspapers and periodicals, ranks and orders, sport and leisure, and scholarship and education.
I. The Christian Roman empire and the foundation of the Teutonic kingdoms. 1911. --II. The rise of the Saracens and the foundation of the Western empire. 1913. --III. Germany and the Western empire. 1922. --IV. The eastern Roman empire (717-1453). 1923. --V. Contest of empire and papacy. 1926. --VI. Victory of the papacy. 1929. --VII. Decline of empire and papacy. 1932. --VIII. The close of the middle ages. 1936. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1964-67. D117 C3 1964
v. 1. The Renaissance, 1493-1520.--v. 2. The Reformation, 1520-1559.--v. 3. The counter-reformation and price revolution, 1559-1610.--v. 4. The decline of Spain and the Thirty Years War, 1609-48/59.--v. 5. The ascendancy of France, 1648-88.--v. 6. The rise of Great Britain and Russia, 1688-1715/25.--v. 7. The old regime, 1713-63.--v. 8. The American and French Revolutions, 1763-93.--v. 9. War and peace in an age of upheaval, 1793-1830.--v. 10. The zenith of European power, 1830-70.--v. 11. Material progress and world-wide problems, 1870-1898.--v. 12. The era of violence, 1898-1945.--v. 13. Companion volume.--v. 14. Atlas. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1957-79. D208 N4
"This four-volume set features nearly 1,500 entries by experts on all aspects of Russian history, including important biographical figures, geographical areas, ethnographic groups, cultural landmarks, military campaigns, and social issues."
Covers 'the lands between the linguistic frontier of German- and Italian-speaking peoples on the west and the political boundaries of the former Soviet Union on the east ... roughly the territory between 10°E and 35°E longitude ... from about 400 C.E. (common era) to the present'--Introduction 'Treated in depth are the Poles, Czechs, Slovaks, Hungarians, Romanians, Yugoslav peoples, Albanians, Bulgarians, and Greeks' -- Forward REF DJK4 .M3 1993
Searchable biographical database of 90,000 Germanic individuals, from the Middle Ages to the present, in all sectors of the public, scientific, economic and cultural life. ADB contains the digitized print edition (55 volumes and index, 1875-1912, Fraktur typeface). NDB contains citations only, no full text, for its 23 volumes, 1953-present.
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Davis Family Library Ref CT773 .D4 2004.
Illustrated with maps, photos, paintings, and genealogies, it contains a wealth of information on the rulers of Britain, including their policies, personalities, key dates, and legacies. Almost 600 entries, which are organised by regions up to 1066 and by royal lines thereafter. Feature articles provide in-depth information on key royal topics, including Coronations, Regalia, the Tower of London, Westminster Abbey and St Paul's Cathedral.