Provides maps of the United States from more than 20 Federal organizations that can be viewed, printed, or downloaded. These maps capture and depict the patterns, conditions, and trends of American life including history, people, government, environment, agriculture, etc. You can also build your own maps; use interactive maps online; order large classroom maps; download data for GIS applications; and find articles on U.S. geography. Also see The National Map.
Web portal for international business resources from Michigan State Univ. Country Insights provides country background, statistics, and links. Also includes state information; industry information; news & views; and much more.
Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties. Online since June 1995. Contains more than 17000 entries from more than 220 countries and territories as of June 2002.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc. Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
Includes articles on the transformations taking place in state government, directory of state elected officials, and numerous statistical tables on state finances and more. Online archive back to 1935.
The Vermont Collection, located on the lower level of the Main Library, contains most of our material relating to the history, politics and culture of Vermont. Except for the periodicals, this material circulates and may be charged out at the Circulation Desk. Older material (pre-1900) and fragile and rare material is shelved in a locked area in Special Collections and does not circulate. Material in the locked portion of the collection includes early Vermont Maps, Vermont Postcards, the Bailey Collection of Vermont Pamphlets, the Rutland Railroad Archives and the Crown Point Road Archives. All of the Bailey pamphlets may be found in Midcat and there is an online finding aid for the Rutland Railroad Archives.
A digital archive of documents related to the history of Middlebury College beginning with its founding in 1800 through the first quarter of the 20th century. These documents include manuscript letters, journals, diaries, and archival records, as well as books, journals, other published works, and photographic images that directly relate to the College’s founders, faculty, students,alumni, and its relationships with town and state entities. Middlebury History Online is a work in progress. As digitized archival materials are created, this online archive will continue to grow.